Our next run is at the Millvale Park Picnic on Tuesday, May 29th
Celebrating 32 years of running downtown!
New start time is 6:00 pm.

The Dumb Shoe Award

Year Award Winner
2007 Darrin Roberts
2006 Ellen Lamar
2005 Susie Oresic
2004 Brad Meyer
2003 Cynthia Sanchas
2002 Russell Davis
2001 PWRYB Cincinatti
2000 Dana Klein
1999 John Millea
1998 Al DePietro
1997 Bill Wolfe
1996 Ed Heath
1995 Dale Schwab (again!)
1994 Lyn Miller (with Ken Krynski)
1993 Debbie Lampo
1992 Dollar Bill Donovan
1991 Dale Schwab
The Dumb Shoe Award

To the right are the winners of the the annual Dale Schwab Shoe award, also known as the dumb shoe award. Hey, the initials sort of fit and besides, it is a shoe nailed to a piece of wood (actually a rather nicely finished wood assembly). As you might imagine, the shoe is awarded for the most spectacularly stupid achievement of the year. Also held annually, but not shown are pictures of the ugliest T-shirt award, or of the ugly T-shirts.

In July 1997, Bill Wolfe was the holder of the shoe. Bill protested this award, and perhaps with some justice. If the events had taken place during a normal training run, no one would fault Bill. But it was during the Pittsburgh Marathon that Bill Wolfe, running with "Dollar" Bill Donovan (but not registered), ran 24 miles at a PR pace, stopped, and walked to Point State Park (there is some confusion as to whether he walked an extra couple of miles or not). Perhaps Bill won for the even greater sin of going into the Harp & Fiddle, when he stopped and didn't have a beer (something neither of the Wolfe Brothers has ever done before).